Late Qing: the 18 provinces

Qing Dynasty‘s Eighteen provinces (China proper provinces), plus the 5 additional:

  1. Zhili 直隶: z 1888 升任直隶按察使
  2. Henan 河南
  3. Shandong 山东: z 1902年四月,升任山东巡抚,并加兵部尚书衔;
  4. Shanxi 山西: L 山西布政使(未到任)
  5. Shaanxi 陕西
  6. Gansu 甘肃
  7. Hubei 湖北
  8. Hunan 湖南
  9. Guangdong 广东: z (1906年9月11日 – 1907年5月28日)
  10. Guangxi 广西: z (1906年9月11日 – 1907年5月28日)
  11. Sichuan 四川: L 光绪十二年 1886-1895 任四川总督
  12. Yunnan 云南
  13. Guizhou 贵州
  14. Jiangsu 江苏: z 1904-6; L 江苏按察使
  15. Jiangxi 江西: z 1904-6; L 江西布政使, 光绪元年 1875 任江西巡抚,光绪四年1878 以乞终养老母辞职
  16. Zhejiang 浙江: L 光绪八年 1882 起用,任浙江巡抚
  17. Fujian 福建 (incl. Taiwan until 1885)
  18. Anhui 安徽: z 1904-6
  19. Fengtian 奉天 – now Liaoning 辽宁
  20. Jilin吉林
  21. Helongjiang 黑龙江
  22. Xinjiang 新疆
  23. Taiwan 台湾

Each province was administered by a governor (巡撫, xunfu) and a provincial military commander (提督, tidu). Below the province were prefectures (, fu) operating under a prefect (知府, zhīfǔ), followed by subprefectures under a subprefect. The lowest unit was the county, overseen by a magistrate.

About The Kibbitzer

bio info .... mmmm ... still working on it ... will add soon ...
This entry was posted in Celestial Empire, Genealogy Research, Kith and Kin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *